Haxophone and Saxophone related MIDI controllers-instruments

This fits zynthian very well:

Fluidsynth is cool, but a good monophonic synth will be much more funny

3 Likes

Never mind the monosynth. A saxophone with a built in looper!

1 Like

I have a saxy friend that I am going to offer to build this for if he buys the parts. I’ll let yez know.

1 Like

In my long and troubled musical history, I studied trumpet and soprano sax… and therefore I could not pass by this jewel that I used a lot in live… extraordinary! I think he will put batteries in it and connect it to the Zynthian …

3 Likes

Didn’t you connect it yet?? Come on!!! We want to hear some noize from this jewel!!

Thanks!

1 Like

I connected … but… since it was calibrated for speed (in those days I went fast…not now) and being connected via MIDI (it’s not the USB model)… the Zynthian it’s hard to keep up with him… some notes are skipping… probably with the USB model this could work better?

These are three random internal sounds. As clean as they come out, with no effects.
Execution aside (I haven’t touched a wind instrument for 5 years)… note the dynamics and how the TOC of the tongue feels. Surely it is a great musical instrument. :face_with_monocle:

This instead is a solo with a harmonica sound that I recorded way back in 2009 when I was “wasting time” with too many instruments instead of dedicating myself only to piano and keyboards… :roll_eyes:

4 Likes

Hi,

I believe that there will not be much difference between DIN and USB connection. I have an Akai EWI USB, it works on the zynthian but there are a few buts.

The key is which synth engine is chosen and if the chosen preset can process the dynamics coming through CC2 (or CC11). Alternatively, whether it is possible to switch to Aftertouch, influence the choice of setting the speed of the note on signal and more.