Questions before taking the plunge

Hey all,

Before I ordered a Zynthian kit, I exchanged a few emails with Jofemodo and he thought maybe it could benefits others if I post them here as well.

So here they are :

• I have a license for Pianoteq6, what would be the process to enter the license key ? Is the process easy ? Is it done via a graphical interface ?

• Does the pre-built kit come with a rpi3 or 3+ ? If 3, is it possible to order the pre-built kit without it since I already have a rpi3 doing nothing here ?

• The appeal of this project for me is to be able to get away from my screen for synth and keyboard stuff but I’m primarily a guitarist and thus, I’m also interested in the MOD UI. I know some people have experimented with audio input and was wondering if this would be added to the “official” Zynthian kit at some point and if so, how hard would it be to “upgrade” to it ? (IE : will it be as trivial as having a new case and hat)

• Knowing that I am comfortable with tinkering (basic soldering, basic command line in linux) and that the idea would be to use Zynthian in a professional environment (studio and on stage), do you think Zynthian is for me ?

I’m new to this forum so if I post this to the wrong section, feel free to delete or move it.

1 Like

Hi @eamonn and welcome!

I have a license, too. AFAIK (and my way to add the license):
0. You need a Ethernet connection (Wifi or cacble - Wifi has range problems when Zynthian is inside a metal case!)

1. ssh to Zynthian:
    ssh zynthian.local
  2. Login (as root or pi)
  3. Start PT on the Zynthian. The Window of PT should be redirected via ssh.
  4. Add your license like “normal”

Caveats: If using putty or anything else on Windows make shure that X11-Forwarding is activated.

This is not really easy to handle, but it should work.

Regards, Holger

2 Likes

And I would take the 3+ with Pianoteq.

2 Likes

Hi @C0d3man and @mheidt

Thanks for your insight.