A "remote" midi keyboard station to zynthian

I’m very new to Zythian I’m sorry,

I have a kind of “problem”/wish.
I have a StudioLogic SL88 and I want to steam over air to my audio station on the other side of the room.

With option can I use the best ?

KB–>Zynthian–>BLE–>Zynthian–>AudioSpeakers
KB–>Zynthian–>WiFI–> Zynthian–>AudioSpeakers
KB–>Rpi/RTP-MIDI/QmidiNet–> WiFi–> Zynthian–AudioSpeakers

Other posible option
KB- ->SL Mixface–> BLE -->Zynthian–>AudioSpeakers

What is the best solution.
Which protocol is better to use BLE or WIFI.

Thanx a lot
Regards,
Jan-Willem

Hi @j-vanwijk!

I don’t think that Zynthian supports BLE. It does support some WiFi protocols:

• QmidiNet (IP Multicast) - This works pretty well. It is a simple “send and pray” messaging system which keeps latency to a minimum but there is a risk of lost messages. You simply set up the sender and the receiver and it should work. WiFi may introduce significant latency and jitter.
  • RTP-MIDI (AppleMIDI network) - This requires configuring a network manager which Zynthian doesn’t do so you need some other device on the network like a computer to handle that. RTP-MIDI does not guarantee delivery and I believe (but have not checked) that AppleMIDI implementation uses UDP for low latency but there are extra mechanisms for monitoring data, e.g. the journal which might (I haven’t checked) reduce data loss
  • OSC - Much of Zynthian can be controlled via OSC. There is its native CUIA for system control and also TouchOSC MIDI Bridge which allows note data to be passed. (We should add this to the native implementation…)

You could also use a wireless MIDI connector like this:
wireless_midi