Availability of QMidiArp

Hi, does anybody know how or if I can get QMidiArp running on my Zynthian? I found a script in “/zynthian/zynthian-sys/scripts/recipes/pending/install_qmidiarp.sh” on the SD card but also a quite different script in the https://github.com/dcoredump/zynthian-recipe repo. Are any of these usable and how?

Hi @jgeisler0303,

I made the script in the zynthian-recipe repository more than one year ago. I tried to use qmidiarp as LV2 plugin inside MOD-UI. At that time the whole thing worked, but had a big disadvantage: The patterns are not editable. You could only edit them directly in the LV2 metadata. Unfortunately MOD-UI does not offer an upload interface. That’s IMHO why it’s not usable right now.

Regards, Holger

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply. I saw your teaser post but were not sure you are the owner of the github repo.

I’m quite new to all this. Building a Zynthian right now. What language is the hardware UI written in? I dream of a simple step sequencer (for drum patterns and bass lines) and maybe an arpeggiator on the zynthian touch screen. No extra hardware, no PC, just a minimal Zynthian box :slight_smile: Maybe I could try to fulfill that dream myself. Do you think QMidiArp is a good starting point for this?

Cheers, Jens

Python with some C.

We’ve looked at various sequencers and there have been some very laudable solo attempts.

seq64 was one recent suggestion, At the end of the day it would want to be a purely midi device using the MIDI router, to drive generic zynthian bits and pieces.

Little effort in this sphere is rarely wasted!

Pull requests welcome!!

Hi @wyleu, do you mean this seq64: https://github.com/sauraen/seq64?

I actually like the UI of QMidiArp very much. And I think, the UI is separate from the engine. So, maybe its possible to rewrite the UI form the Zynthian “Window Manager” / Graphics Framework. Is The Zynthian UI written with the pygame library?

No sorry an easy mistake.