Basic MIDI project to learn?

Hi All,

New here, hello to all the community!
and my ordered Zynthian should be delivered within hours :grinning:

I have developped on a Teensy an advanced MIDI sequencer, and would like to port it here so all can benefit (free of course) from this common hardware, which was not possible on my Teensy … but I am new in all this architecture and linux.

I have seen the page about new dev, but that seems to reinvent the wheel & doing a complete Zynthian again (linux stack, Git …) … too hard for me

So is there a way to have some dedicated folder, putting my python and GUI inside, maybe declaring that app or folder somewhere to have it listed in the zynthian apps list ?
(again MIDI seq, not looking for hardware features or real time signal processing … please K.I.S.S. principle if prossible)
Any way ? What is the closest “Midi Hello World” example I could study ?

Thanks,
Fabrice

1 Like

Hi Fabrice and welcome in the wonderfull Zynthian’s World. I hope you will enjoy your New musical toy.

First of all, if your Teensy based sequencer has some midi out capabilities, you will be able to send this to Zynthian.

Do you know that Zynthian already has a really nice step sequencer ? Because, if you plan to port your software from the Teensy architecture and its specific libraries to Linux, you may consider the real benefit of your software adaptation work regarding what’s already included in Zynthian.

1 Like

hi le51,

My Zynthian arrived in the meantime and I just assembled all OK. (was missing the 4xLCD spacers, but no big deal)

Sorry if my messag was unclear: of course I can drive via midi the Zynthian like any expander, but my objective is to make my original seq available (if some are interested?) for all, inside the Zynthian, wirth Zynthian HW. So a big SW port is what I should do.
And no, the seq already included is very different than mine. No competition here, not better or worse, just approach is very different.