Button feeling flimsy after a few hours

Hi there,
I’m new to Zynthian and after 2-3 years of wanting one and almost buying one (and than finding out that the kits were out of stock) I finally took the plunge! And: WOW!!
After building my brand new V4 I’ve been playing around for a few hours. I noticed that the select encoder started to feel (and sound) different from the others, more flimsy. Also sometimes when scrolling down at first the selection on the screen moves up and visa verse.
Is this a known problem or do I have a bad encoder by accident? The small pcb and screws are secure, I opened it up to check if they somehow had gotten loose.
I made a little video to demonstrate (hidden link, no bad publicity :slight_smile:)
Please advise.
Sincerely, Patric

1 Like

Encoders are far from perfect and sometimes it can be a little jumpy, although normally you get used to this and your fingers learn to avoid it. I would like to use better encoders, but good encoders are quite big and really expensive!!

You could try to swap by another one, less important than “select”, like “layer” or “snapshot”. Anyway, if you feel that it’s too uncomfortable, tell me and i will send you a new one.

Regards,

My select encoder also sometimes makes a step in the wrong direction.
Swapping it is a good idea as a quick fix if it maybe will get worse.

I’m don’t really know how the encoders work, but could this be fixed on the software side? Like giving it more time to detect changes?
Or would adding a small RC circuit help to get a cleaner signal from the switches? (contact bounce)

The signal is already debounced by software and hardware, but perhaps could be improved on software.

Regards,

Thanks!
Just out of curiosity, are there known encoders that would fit the case and are compatible without software modification that would work better?

1 Like

If there were better compatible or similar encoders, we would use It. Don’t doubt it!!