Church organ build (Allen digital console)

I’ve assembled my first custom Zynthian (second in all, my first was an official kit) to use with an Allen AP-4 organ console. I’ve been playing this organ for several years now and have only been disappointed with the built in sounds.

I used an IQaudio DAC pro with the official 7” touchscreen and a smartipi touch pro case. It’s a budget build, admittedly, but still packs a punch.

The organ console and speakers are in decent shape, and it has both a midi and audio interface itching for use, so this was pretty easy to get working. I was also able to plug the power adapter into organ’s main power supply so the main switch will turn on both the console and the zynthian.

The last thing I plan to do is build a drawer that the zynthian can sit and slide in/out in so I don’t have to keep it on the organ bench!

6 Likes

Cool build! Couldn’t the Zynthian sit on the shelf to the left or right of the manuals?

Thanks for the suggestion! I considered it briefly, but decided against because:

1. The existing opening for the wires is underneath that shelf, would have to drill a sizable hole
  2. The screen would be partially blocked up there

I’ve seen some of the proprietary modules that Allen makes (and sells for way more than a fair profit) and they’re usually installed with some sort of drawer underneath the existing desk space. I think that’s why they left a nice opening for cables to pass through.

Have you seen the Zynthian UI control by ASCII keyboard interface. There are similar Callable UI actions through MIDI as well. These might manage simple patch selection during performances.

Here’s a blog following the construction of a MIDI Virtual Pipe Organ.

Another: The Pipe Organ in my Living Room :A Lifelong Journey

One more Pi based project, just for reference:
The Hauptwerk Virtual Pipe Organ Projects - OPUS II - A New Virtual Pipe Organ