Clarification HDMI displays

I need a definitive clarification on the display to be permanently mounted on my Zynthian … On my case I can mount a 3.5 or max 4 inch display.
I’d like to mount an hdmi display using the flat cable to connect directly to the board, but I don’t know which displays are compatible and if you can find a longer flat cable to get to the board. Can anyone help me clarify this doubt?
Many thanks

Hi,

I use this, but it’s DSI, not HDMI:

In the display settings select the “Pi 7 Touchscreen Display 800x480”. If you need longer DSI cable, you can use any Raspberry Pi camera cable.

I don’t know the difference… unfortunately I’m not an expert on these peripherals… I stayed with 20x4 liquid crystal displays… :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :thinking:
The flat cable of the raspicams is interesting… I have just one…
Many thanks gilrain

This 4 inch is the same?
One last question… does the power come via flat cable? Thank you

This 4 inch display is more expensive because of the optical bonding. I think it’s more like a smartphone display, but it probably does the job. The default orientation is portrait, so you have to rotate in the config. I use my display upside down, I had to write “lcd_rotate=2” and “display_rotate=2” in the config, maybe you need 1 or 3 for this parameters.

The power, the display and the touch control all come via the flat cable. These Waveshare displays work the same way as the official Raspberry Pi 7 inch display, so very easy to use them, there are no driver problems.

THANKS gilrain, you were really kind and explained how I can proceed… I’ll have to decide whether to modify the case I designed and printed with a 3D printer and put a bigger display like yours.

I started drawing the new front…

While waiting for the display to arrive, I use my Zynthian via VNC… :slightly_smiling_face: :wink:

1 Like