Clipping audio problem

I recently purchased an assembled Zynthian V4 and I am experiencing audio distortion issues. Whenever I play multiple notes, hitting keys a little harder, or using a couple of engines simultaneously, the audio clips hard into “red” and gets distorted. The problem is not specific to a particular synth engine. It is present throughout all synths including all audio effects when I use them by plugging an electric guitar in. In noticed, however, that the clipping is more prominent to one of the two channels in stereo.

I tried tweaking the audio settings to no avail. I assume this is either a bug or something that can be fixed by changing the parameters. As I am new to Zynthian, I would appreciate if anyone can provide easy to follow instructions as to how this issue can be solved. Thanks!

The overall gain can be turned down using the audio levels menu item, if you have enabled the facility in the webconf settings for the audio card.

Then don’t forget to enable audio_levels on snapshots in the GUI options to ensure the settings get saved with each individual snapshot.

Thanks. For whatever reason, the menu I get when I select “Audio levels” is completely different (i.e. no Behringer soundcard, etc), so I don’t see how I can get to the settings that you are showing.

The settings here, are context sensitive.
This particular zynthian is connected to a Behringer 1820 audio interface and the webconf audio section has been configured for this device, and part of the start up process involves the Alsa connection examining the device and reporting back what the driver tells it that it can do …

So using a different audio device be it a hifiberry ADC DAC card or an audio Injector card or anything else will report what controls it will respond to, so in the webconf section you will get whatever is appropriate for your input and output device., depending on what it is…