Controlling Zynthian V4 Headless with Faderfox E4

Good evening. I am new to the show, have been doing quit a lot of reserache, but still have a lot of questions :wink:.

I am working with a Raspberry Pi4 and a Waveshare 5" touchscreen. I just updated the V4 software via WebConf Tool.

Following the instructions from the " Zynthian UI Users Guide"I have been trying to map the encoders from Zynthian via MIDI CC with a Farefox E4 controller and have failed.

I am not quit shure what else to add, as to say that the colours of the ā€œ??ā€ neither change colour, nor do the start blinking. One deviation from the writen instructions is, that the cc values, before mapping the encoders, are shown as 1#7, 1#74, 1#71, instead of 7, 74, 71. The encoder for panning has no cc value set at all.

Has anyone used the described combination of Zynthian and Faderfox E4 controller? Does anyone know if this combination works at all?

Thank you for your attention.

1 Like

Welcome @SirAdrianFish2

1#7 indicates that MIDI CC 7 on channel 1 is mapped to the control. If working in ā€œStageā€ mode (aka omni-mode) then you donā€™t see the ā€œ1#ā€ prefix because all MIDI channels are passed to the active chain

If the Faderfox send MIDI CC then it should be learned. You first need to enable MIDI learn by pressing the Learn button then adjust the parameter you want to map. Then send the MIDI CC from the Faderfox.

1 Like

I also own the Faderfox E4 and everything is working as explained to control Zynthian via CC messages. In my setup the E4 is powered and connected by Zynthian over one of the 4 USB ports.

1 Like

Thank you for replying. Eventually I got the Faderfox E4 encoders mapped - at least partially.