FFT slow on rpi4

Hello
I’m tryng to build my own first lv2 plugin for zynthian in order to let it run in headless mode.
I started coding it in Juce, but it dors not manage control ports, thus is not simple to let it communicate with zynthian GUI. One more noticeable thing thing is that plugin .so file is about 60MB, including the default Juce GUI for debugging purposes.

Then I started coding it in C without Juce.
Since my plugin performs an FFT, some thiny logic and an iFFT, I used fftw3.
Whenever I try to get my 1024 FFT plans in the instantiate or activate function with ESTIMATE flag it hangs one CPU to 100% for a long time. But the FFT size is the same as the Juce one.

Since the Juce plugin has not this issue it’s clear to me that I’m missing something, it’s the second time I compute an FFT the first was in Juce, but I don’t understand what’s wrong.

Do you have any hints on it?
Have I to use another approach for FFT, e.g. a different FFT library, code one function by myself, install some linux optimization package, …?
Is there a LV2 example plugin that I could look at to learn?
Or should I compute the plans offline and save them, in order to barely load them in the plugin?

Thank you

Sergio

Hi @idranoels !

fftw3 library is fast enough in Pi4, so it shouldn’t have performance issues. Check you compiler optimization options.

In the other hand, you could try to use:

that is a kind of JUCE-port framework developed by falktx and allows to compile JUCE plugins as LV2 with control ports.

Also, if you are going to program LV2, you should consider the LVTK framework:

Regards,

1 Like

Thanks for all the precious suggestions.
I’ll check It ASAP.

Finally I succedesse in getting It working.
I still didn’t use any framework, but I’m planning to study the UI framework for the next release

CPU usage Is about 5%, I don’t know if it’s high for this kind of FX, but it’s at least acceptable for my purpose.