First hours impression and review

Hi all:

I just got mine Zynthian running last night and got to spend about 2 hours with it. I have a lot of synths and have been in the synth / music-gear game for a long time and consider myself fairly adept at figuring things out without reading anything first. Despite the fact I am an engineer, I load the RTFM. That said, I am usually pretty good at this so how far I can get without reading things is often an indication of how good the interface is.

Initial setup: easy. Plugged in a midi cable, figured out to add a device, easy to select midi channel, instantly responded to incoming midi, no issues. Next, change preset. This was much harder for me and now today, reading the manual, I know why. I noticed the buttons were behaving differently and I see now they are timed. I tried feeling for timing yesterday along with double-click presses, neither of which worked for me. I will try again tonight by my first criticism is that the buttons are too spongy for a 0.3sec press to be accurate, IMHO. A denser button rubber would work better in my opinion.

Eventually I figured out how to get back to the preset menu and change sounds. Sound quality is good, mixer was easy to figure out as well. I still had the screen protector on for now so I didn’t try the touch component. Encoders were easily understood what parameters they were controlling. Navigation via the UDLR buttons was just fine. The left/right switching channels/parts took a little getting used to but is probably a good design choice.

Next was changing instrument, this was also pretty easy via the menu and I was able to see all the options, nicely grouped. I tried some soundfont stuff and the drum sampler. Timing seemed pretty solid, but I didn’t measure. I can see the sampler being a lot of fun once I get my own stuff into it.