Metal Box and Bluetooth and WIFI

Hi all, as a completely new user I ask myself if the often described metal box for Zynthian will allow to use WIFI and/or Bluetooth on a Raspberry 3 without any additional antennas / equipment. What is the user experience for this ?

Hi Tom @music.friend,

I have no experience with a Raspi in a metal box. But I know that a ESP8266 in a metal box does not work until you use one with an external antenna. So I think this will be the same for a Raspi - but no labority-tests by myself until now. I think Google may help…?

Regards, Holger

1 Like

I can confirm the @C0d3man theory. BT and WiFi are almost useless when the board (rPI in this case, but I tried with Particle Cores and Bluelight Beans) is in a metal box.

1 Like

Hello Holger,

thanks for the info. Indeed I have had difficulties with signal strength with RPi3 in a metal housing (Wifi). If you want to go wireless that leaves only to sacrifice USB for an external (Wifi and/or Bluetooth ??) add-on…

On the other hand I cannot see reasons for wireless transfers e.g. on stage because that could be hacked from some bad guys in the audience - I’ve seen that happen with wireless microphones. Leaves decision for RPi3 only for general performance improvements …
greetings, Tom

Hi, Axeman,
thanks for confirming my suspicions!
Leaves preference for RPI3 over RPI2 mainly for imrpved performance…

Hi @all!

I’ve tested the internal RBPi3’s Wifi in my zynthian steel case and it works. The signal “flows” out the case by the screen window or the little ventilation slots. Tomorrow i will try with the aluminum case and will try to compare the signal level with and without case in both cases.

Regards!

You’re lucky :slight_smile:

A 2450MHz signal with a wavelenght of about 12cm can’t pass “through” a hole. Maybe the holes in the case have sizes so that holes act as a coupled antenna element and allows signal to enter the box.

1 Like

Screen window is 7cm long … perhaps it’s enough?

1 Like