MIDI output via PD

Hello,

I’m trying to get PD to work as a midi effect, without success so far. and pretty sure I’m missing something obvious as I’m still very new to the Zynthian and to PD.

Right now I’m just testing the midi functionality by using a simple patch with a notein object connected to a noteout object. Just to see if the midi passes through, which it doesn’t. It does when I run the same patch on my PC. I’ve uploaded the patch via webconf as a pd file, and as a zip, both don’t work. The correct hardware midi out is also selected in the midi routing of the layer I’m using for PD.

Did I forget something essential to get MIDI output to work?

Thanks!

midi thru.pd (133 Bytes)

I just tested and works for me. Check the existing examples and replicated the directory structure.
Every PD patch must be stored a subfolder named like the patch.

BTW, uploading “pd” files from the webconf’s “preset manager” seems to be broken. Could you kindly open a issue on the tracking system?

Thanks!

Sure! I’ll make an account on github so I can open issues as well.

Hmm strange, still not working. At first I thought maybe it’s the version of PD I used to make the patch, but if it works for you there must be something else. I named the folder the same as the file, using WinSCP. This is the location (/zynthian/zynthian-my-data/presets/puredata/midi thru). Still no luck. I also can’t see any files via WinSCP in the “synths” example folder, while there are indeed pd files present that I can see and open from the Zynthian GUI.

Try removing the space from the filename …

Regards,

Tried this but still no luck! There must be something obvious I forgot to do? It works when I use a regular midi thru FX plugin for the same midi channel, just not when I use the PD layer. The PD layer does work with the example patches so it’s definitely something I overlooked.