MOD-UI has strange artifact or crackling sound

Well I’ve got the device up and running and I really enjoy it. I started playing with the MOD-UI interface (which is super intuitive I think) and started creating pedalboard signal chains.

A quick search didn’t reveal a similar topic, but I might have used different search terms.

A question for those using this device in this manner… I notice a strange popping/artifact sound when playing. I would assume that’s the processor, however the temperature is 60*C and I’m only using a minimal portion of the processor.

I have a Pi 4 with 8gb RAM, HiFiBerry DAC + ADS Pro and updated software earlier this week as this is a new build.

MOD-UI Screenshot CPU

Here are some quick sound files I recorded by running the output jack into my Mac/DAW with no post processing.

First file has several effects pedals with moderate settings and my passive fretless bass with soapbar pickups. I believe there was some dirt, reverb, and maybe a little chorus.

Second is pretty clean with only a compressor in the signal chain. But I compressed it pretty heavily to see how it would react with the fretless bass.

The artifact isn’t consistent, and maybe it isn’t even that bad… but if there’s a way to clean that up I’d love a nudge in the appropriate direction. I would like to gig with this device and prior to that I want to play it around the house and do some serious breaking in to make sure I’m comfortable with it’s limitations prior to using it in public. I didn’t see any settings that would let me adjust sampling down from where I was.

Thanks so much!

Just had a late night thought. Wondering if I’m experiencing an impedance type issue. Passive bass straight into the Zynthian. Maybe a preamp will help? I’ll test that out tomorrow and see if it makes a difference.

Hi @chris