Newbie Hardware Questions

Hi,

I stumbled across Zynthian whilst searching for something else, glad I did, what an awesome project, thanks for all your efforts.

I’m new to Zynthian, but not new to Linux, ARM, basic electronics, dremeling project boxes etc. I think your “standard” hardware platform is a very good idea, but, I’m always on a budget these days, so looking at ways to keep my costs down. So, hackable, great for me !

After reading up a little, I just wanted to clarify a few things hardware related, apologies if this has been asked before …

1. Can I use HDMI/VGA/Composite video for the display ? From reading the forum It seems probably just a case of switching frame buffer and editing settings files ?

1a. With a touchscreen display, are rotary encoders still required ?

1b. Zynthian headless with xRDP ?

1. USB sound / USB MIDI card or adapter ? From what I’ve read the worry here is latency issues, but, anyone tried it, and what was conclusion ?

2. MIDI over ip, is it possible with things like MIDIrtp and the open source versions of Apple MIDI ?

3. Given Zynthian runs on Raspbian, a Debian derivative, then is it possible to run on other ARM boards, eg Banana PI, Beaglebone, Odroid Etc. on Debian And what about Intel/AMD PC motherboards (which probably has sound card built in already).

4. Given that GPIOs could be freed with HDMI/VGA/Composite display, and maybe sound card moved to USB, then would it be possible to hack/change the 2in1 to a 1in1 that just does MIDI in, or maybe even MIDI IN/Thru/Out ?

Thanks for your help.

Hi @DonCharisma!

Welcome to Zynthian’s community! :wink:

Yes. Currently you can do it, but it’s not the “official” way, so you have to invent a little bit and change some config files, etc. Read the related topics , please :wink:

No. But you will lost some features, like the X-Y pad controller.