Noob building custom Zynthian

Hi!

I’m totaly new to this, both electronics and synthesis, and very keen to learn and explore electronic music. And i decided to build my own Zynthian box as i’m a student and on a budget.

So, i’ve finally recieved all my parts from china and just now started to put it all together, and of course already run in to some problems!

The screen is working as it should, haven’t tested the touch yet. But I cant seen to boot correctly.

I’m booting in to the Zynthian Error screen, with my local IP showing. And it seems to be in an infinite loop.

It showed the terminal, then the error screen for a few second, and repeat.

What could be the problem?

I’ve hooked up the 4 encoders with breadboard so far, cross referencing the allinoneboard schematics, MCP23017 datasheet and the picture that is attached in the guide, according to this hackaday guide: https://hackaday.io/project/166752-quick-and-dirty-zynthian

Except for the reset pin, everything is connected.

Thanks in advance!

Here’s my partlist:

Raspberry Pi 3B+
geeekpi 5" screen from ebay
4x EC11 rotary encoders connected with MCP23017 (http://tiny.cc/hceypz)
Generic PCM5122 DAC+ (http://tiny.cc/1aeypz)
USB Midi keyboard

1 Like

Hi @Neomorph

Welcome to the community. You will need to access the web based configuration via a browser on a computer connected to the same network as your Zynthian then select Soundcard: HifiBerry DAC+ light from the hardware menu. Check out the wiki for information.

Beware, you will soon be receiving a cryptic message from @wyleu which basically means, when you have some audio coming out of your Zynthian, upload a sample to the forum.

You can search the forum for similar noob questions. It happens just about every time!!!

Hi, thank you!