Not usable sound

Hey there,
I am a beginner trying to get his way into building own synthesizers.

I have a really hard time getting the sound to work properly on my Zynthian install.
That’s how the output sounds:

(this was the PADsynth)

Here my setup:

• Raspberry PI 3b
    • Raspberry Touchdisplay (don’t know which version)
    • Using onboard sound
    • currently power supply through a power bank that gives 3,1A (no power issues as no lightning symbol is shown)
    • generic AKAI midi controller

Here a screenshot of the settings:

What am I doing wrong here?
Appreciate any hint.

Thanks.

Here’s what works for me when I’m not using the RPI headphone jack and no soundcard on my zynthian. Try this: Go back to the webconf and under Hardware select Audio. Then select Hifiberry Dac + Light and check the RBPi Headphones box. Click on Save and then click on REBOOT NOW! Finally click on Reboot.

Way better. Thanks.
Last issue:
Now I get this symbol, and always when it’s flashing, the sound crackles a little l.

That indicates the sound subsystem (jack) is not coping and triggering xruns which are failures to process data within assigned time. Each xrun manifests as a click in the audio. Common causes are:

• Poor PSU - even though a power supply may be specified with sufficient power delivery it may fail for various reasons including poor quality cable / connector, poor design, etc. This has been the most common cause of this issue even when there is no low power indication.
  • Use of headphone output - this adds a significant load to the Raspberry Pi and its use is strongly discouraged. It is generally only used for initial testing / assesment before adding a proper soundcard.
  • Resource hungry engines - some of the sound generators and audio processors in Zynthian are resource hungy and the Raspberry Pi can struggle to run these. Start with something simple like a single Fluidsynth layer with no additional audio or MIDI effects and see if that helps.