OBXd crashes on startup

Hey everyone,

Today I built my Zythian kit and it’s been working really well, except that I ran into an issue trying to load the obxd plugin. When I try to load obxd in a new layer, even when all other layers are empty, I get a red error screen with no other information on it. The system then has to be rebooted to recover.

This is on a fresh install of the latest stable zynthian OS. Sorry, since I’m kind of new to this, I’m not sure how I can provide more debug information. Has anyone else run into this issue?

Hi @jacquiepi,

Welcome to our community. I hope you will enjoy your adventures in Zynthianland.

I am not seeing the issue you describe. Will you please paste a screenshot or the content from your webconf homepage which will show us things like the versions of core modules in use?

Do you have any other engines loaded? Which MIDI channel, preset do you attempt to select in Obxd or at what point does the error occur? What does the error show? What version of the kit did you build or when & where did you obtain it?

Sorry - lots of questions but this will all help to hone in on the issue.

1 Like

So here is a screenshot from the webconf homepage. It’s essentially stock, except that I changed the Kit to “Custom” and the soundcard to RBPi onboard audio so that I could test the audio with my headphones. I did that because I saw another user on the forums said to do that to get sound from the 3.5mm RBPi jack.

The crash occurs whether or not I have another synth engine loaded. Also, today I tried it with the default soundcard and 1/4" stereo out, and had the same issue with that plugin. Here’s a picture of the error screen, sorry if it’s bad quality:

As for the version of the OS, I installed it from the here, selecting the “last stable” version: https://os.zynthian.org/
Not sure what version that is exactly.