Preset Manager for External Devices

Hi @jofemodo !

I begin my reflection on a “patch organizer” for MIDI hardware devices

Since I have not yet a Zynthian module and I have no knowledge of its architecture (organization / hierarchy), I may have made mistakes or suggested things that do not correpond to the interface of Zynthian (as it exists today).

This solution assumes that it is possible to create “Engines” for each hardware synth (much like Ableton Live allows to create an instance of an “instrument rack” for external instruments)
We could then see several lists of presets, classed by category
(It would be nice to offer the ability to easily edit these lists via a file format such as XML, CSV …)

Here is an example of the tree:
http://img4.hostingpics.net/pics/341155Schema.png

This solution would also offer the advantage to allow the user to build some “Control Panels” to be able to control several parameters of the MIDI device (four per page / panel)

Does it seem possible to you?

:slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @Loud65!

Your proposal is very similar (virtually identical) to the current Zynthian UI workflow, including the “Control Panels”, so i think it would be very easy to implement. I think that you should try a Zynthian Box :wink:

Best Regards!

I think that you should try a Zynthian Box

I think so, too… :wink:

Hi @Loud65!
1.) In your scheme, every hardware synth (external engine) would be in a different MIDI channel?
2.) I’m thinking that better than XML/Text editing, we could create a nice web interface for editing the categories/presets and controller maps (perhaps including some kind of MIDI learning :wink:

Hi @jofemodo

1. Yes indeed
    one synth per MIDI channel
    I think it is the most effective way
    and if a synth is multitimbral, we can create several instances (e.g. Blofeld #1, Blofeld #2…)
    so we are not forced to use all the available “parts” within the Zynthian