Receive SysEx-Data

Hi,
is it possible to receive SysEx-Data, store it like a midi-capture and send it back to the Zynthian?
My Novation Impulse has only 25 Patches and I like to use them for edit purposes I need for setBfree, OBX or others. If it’s possible, i had endless paches without changing cables to another computer. :+1::rainbow:

1 Like

Hi @Micki,

AFAIK there is currently a SysEx blocking inside zyncoder. There are bad machines in the world who send sometime “strange” SysEx commands, so there was a filter implemented.

I have a local branch where the filter is disabled, because I liked to test if I can send SysEx from an editor to Dexed. Perhaps you like to test this?

Regards, Holger

Hallo Holger,
thanks for the quick answer! That would be great!

I’ve tested the bulk transfer with midi-ox. The impulse sends bulks with a length of 288 bytes per patch and receives them savely. I think it will work.

But please send informations how to install the update. I’m new with the raspberry and the possibilities of it. I don’t want to kill my SD :face_with_monocle::smirk::rainbow:

Hallo Norbert,

In fact it’s a question of how familar you are with using Unix/Linux && tools. So it’s easy for one who knows how to use ssh, git and compilers. I would recommend to make a copy of the SD card before testing.

Here we go (from Putty or MobaXTerm if you are on Windows):

ssh root@zynthian.local # Login into your Zynthian
cd /home/pi/zyncoder/ # change to the zyncoder source directory
sed -i.orig 's/ || ev.buffer\[0\]==SYSTEM_EXCLUSIVE//' zynmidirouter.c # remove the part of the code which is ignoring SYSEX 
./build.sh # build the new zyncoder 
reboot # reboot system with new zyncoder

To switch back:

ssh root@zynthian.local # Login into your Zynthian
cd /home/pi/zyncoder/ # change to the zyncoder source directory
mv zynmidirouter.c.orig zynmidirouter.c # restore the original code
./build.sh # build  zyncoder 
reboot # reboot system with original zyncoder

HtH, Holger