Release Testing

The subject of project management and release testing has been discussed in other topics. I am opening this topic to discuss how we implement some form of formal testing of major releases and rolling updates.

Testing is a thorny subject. It can be time consuming and formal testing can get quite tedious, especially if full test runs need to be repeated. It can also be fun and rewarding, watching those pie charts turn green :-). The purpose of the testing needs to be clear and each test should provide benefit and ideally avoid repeating elements tested elsewhere. Tests should be as atomic as possible allowing direct correlation between a requirement and its test. This ensures functionality (and other elements) are thoroughly tested without the tedious overlap.

I have several years experience of managing and performing testing on software projects. I have mostly used a commercial product called TestRail to track that testing. Today I tried out Test Collab which provides a free plan with limitations (200 test cases and 400 executed cases). Much of my time today was spent trying to exceed those limits to discover the behaviour at the break point. I can report that it stops at the limit (400 executed) informing the user that they have exceeded their plan limit (and offering upgrade) but retains results to that point. Deleting previous results will allow further testing. Each project seems to have its own allocation so splitting tests across multiple projects within the same TEst Collab account also extends their offering. The product itself is similar to TestRail with slightly fewer features but is generally comparable. Test Collab supports multiple users for each account with various roles and a fair degree of customisation and integration options. (There doesn’t seem to be a limit on quantity of users for the free plan though I haven’t tested that.) Paid plans are subscription based calculated by quantity of users.