Rpi 4, 5"touchscreen & Akai mpk mk2. Touchscreen Setup help? [Solved]

Noob here,
Trying to set up Zynthian on my new rPi 4. I have a Longruner 5" touchscreen. The screen displays, but still haven’t been successful with the touch part. I keep ending up at “Cannot connect to X server” error.
Here’s what I did:
Boot up fresh Zynthian download on Rpi 4. Touchscreen is plugged into gpio pins, but I have hdmi “micro to standard” cable (instead of that little adapter).
First boot splash screen shows “error”, but if I let it sit, it goes to UI. Then on separate computer, Zynthian.local and change hardware to kit=custom, rpi headphones, generic hdmi. Then I log into wireless and also update. After reboot, still have a good UI.
Then I install drivers for touchscreen. This is when, after reboot, things get wonky. I no longer have ui, but rather a shell with Zynthians info on top.
But still, moving forward…
I enter commands to change script and calibrate touchscreen. But after I enter
Startx ./calibrate.sh (sorry, I’m doing this from memory) I get error “Cannot connect to X server”

With these sorts of rigs I treid to get the screens working with a default raspi pi desktop, just to prove the hardware was correct.

Doing it that way completely rules zynthian out of the equation, and there are many tutorials for Pi’s.

Hey, thanks for the comeback!
I can confirm it does work with RaspiOS.

Ok so the hardware is good.

Presumably you’ve had a look at this epic …?

You said that you installed driver for touchscreen. How did you do that? Some touchscreens have very intrusive driver installation methods that pretty much frap whatever you have. Add a link to the driver installation instructions.

Link
About halfway down the page. Thanks for looking. I’m at work, driving, for a few more hours. I’ll be able to focus more then. I appreciate it!