Sampler for Zynthian

Hi every one!

I came here because I wanted something like op-1 but dont have money to buy one.
Does anyone here have any idea how many lines of code it would require to program audio sampler like in op-1 for Raspberry pi?
If you are not familiar with it, it can record, edit and map samples to keyboard. Also you can choose playback mode like play whole sound when key is pressed or only while key is pressed and change play speed.

I am fairly new to python and other languages. My strongest language is one used to program arduino and that is not super great but I can get stuff done if there is somekind of information about things I am doing. I have partly programmed evolutionary neural network in python but that project is still unfinished. (I was following ludobots course in reddit.)

I tried to quickly look around internet and there seems to be something called mpgedit which seems to do editing of audio files like I would like to do it. I have not tested it but from screenshot it seems that you can choose which part of audio file to play.

Here is list of features I would like the sampler to at least have:
-Record audio from audio input.
-Map samples to keyboard.
-Play audio backwards.
-Change speed in which audio is played.

If this is not super challenging and I could get little bit of guidance where to look for information I would start this project as soon as I have finished my Zynthian. I would like to do this in python.

2 Likes

Hi @Aleksi!

Perhaps it’s simpler to use & extend some existing software. My first suggestion is “samplv1”, that is currently supported by Zynthian as a LV2 plugin under MOD-UI. Take a look to this software. You can install it in your desktop PC (Linux and perhaps Mac also) and give it a try … :wink:

Regards,

@jofemodo
I am trying to install samplv1 but I dont quite get it. Could you or someone else walk me trough installation process?
I have Windows 7.