Sustain pedal not working in layers

Good day! I’m actually new to piano and keyboard learning, I bought a cheap keyboard last week and wondered how I can improve its tones and capabilities that when I searched and stumbled upon your very nice zynthian and friendly community, today I got my headless zynthian to work, I was really amazed of how feature packed it was but I can’t get the sustain pedal to work. All it does is turn off the sustain when I turn it on manually through the mouse. And sorry in advance because the programming and the terminologies are overwhelming to me. Here is the pic of the dashboard and pedal for reference. Advanced thanks sirs.

Hi
In the webconf, you can enable “Show MIDI messages” (or something like this) and see what is comi’g out from your pedal.

Or maybe it can just act as a switch ?

1 Like

Good day sir, is this what you meant? Thats the log when I step on the pedal and release.

Yes that’s it.
As you can see, your pedal is sending a Control Change message on MIDi chanel 1 but unfortunately your pedal act as a switch on/off (value 0 or 74)

1 Like

Oh okay sir, do I have to configure something? Or do I have to change pedal? Or the keyboard is not compatible? Sorry to trouble your patience but I have trouble understanding about MIDI CC,switches and etc.

The pedal seems to work okay. Will you confirm that it sends CC 64 with value 64 when pressed and sends CC 64 with value 0 when released?

Also, what engine and preset are you using for your sound in Zynthian?

1 Like

Good day Sir! Thank you for noticing my post,

This is the midi log I just did, I don’t know what correct one to select, so I did my Keyboard (Yourock) and zynroutermain. Yes sir, In the keyboard midi log, it sends value 64 when pressed and 0 when released, I notices when looking at the log and manually turning on the sustain through the mouse it turns on when it exceeds the value of 64.

ZYNTH 4

This is the layer I’m using.