Totally blind looking for collaborators on a project to make zynthian accessible to totally blind users

Hi everyone, hope you’re doing well and staying safe :slight_smile: my name is Trey I’m totally blind from the UK. I’m an electronic Musician, currently using a combination of hardware, synthesisers a hardware step sequencer and macOS to make electronic music in my studio. For awhile now I’ve really been interested in getting a hardware sampler that I can use to play live, all of the currently available options I’ve tried haven’t suited my needs. I came across zynthian after posting on reddit link here:
https://www.reddit.com/r/synthdiy/comments/1btjtqb/totally_blind_enquiring_about_starting_a_project/

I really think that zynthian could be a great option for myself and other totally blind users that are looking for a good groove box, and sampler option.
I have no coding experience myself, and I am unable to do any diy electronics due to being totally blind and having the use of one hand because of cerebral palsy. However, I am looking for developers from this community to collaborate with me on a project to make zynthian accessible to totally blind users via a text to speech interface, some of you may be wondering about haptic feedback via motors. This I believe would be expensive and if the motors break this could lead to other problems. Some of you may also be wondering about the use of braille in an accessible interface, Braille would be difficult to implement and not all blind. Musicians are fluent enough in bbrail to take advantage of such an interface. With all, this being said, I’m looking for collaborators to help make zynthian accessible to myself and other blind users.
If anybody is interested in collaborating, please drop me a message or comment on this thread. Thank you very much for taking the time to read this post everyone and I look forward to collaborating with you all :slight_smile:

6 Likes