USB Midi out

Hi there, I am new to this whole ecosystem and have a V5 kit. I also have a minidexed (Raspberry pi based Yamaha TX816)

I want to connect it to the V5 but am unsure as to what I need to do.

I have connected it to the square USB socket on the back of the V5 but I am sure there is more to it than that.

Does anyone have a tutorial or know how to do it.
Thanks in anticipation

Hi @Merlinnnn!

Sure we can help but first there are a few questions that need answering:

• Why do you want to connect them? Do you want to use Zynthian as a sequencer to play the minidexed? Do you want to pass through MIDI from Zynthian MIDI input to minidexed? Do you want to use Zynthian as a MIDI processor? Please describe what you want to achieve as it influences the answer.
  • Are you aware that Zynthian has Dexed built-in so you can use it instead of the minidexed?
  • How do you intend to use minidexed? As a sound extender? As a MDII controller?

Zynthian is versatile and understanding your workflow will help to define the physical and logical configuration required.

1 Like

Oh wow I had not even thought of half of that…Like I said I am fairly new.

My minidex has 8 voices that can be played together and detuned etc etc to give a fairly big sound. My plan initially was to use it like a background PAD with the V5 providing the “Lead”.

However you have now got me thinking…but like everything new start with the simple stuff.
Play keyboard v5 in lead and send same midi out to minidexed

Happy to answer (to the best of my limited ability) any questions…MIDI has come on a long way and the last time I did any of this was back in the 80’s

2 Likes

Okay! So first let’s talk USB MIDI…