V3 Kit build - Screen stays blank

Hi everyone. I’m new to the world of Zynthian and received the V3 kit last week. Got around to building it last night. Everything went smoothly and I did not run into any issues building. The wiki is pretty spot on!

Turning it on resulted in a blank screen though. I neither see an error screen nor the actual ui. So I reflashed the SD today. Still the same result.
I was able to connect to the web interface and set the kit to V3. Rebooted. Still nothing on the screen. I activated the UI debug and could not find any error messages. When connecting via HDMI I see loads of green “OK” messages and then it looks frozen prompting a single underscore. I guess that’s when the actual UI activates, but I’m not sure.

Here’s a picture of the build:

Any suggestions as to what I should try next?
Any ideas are appreciated.

Thank you!

When you say nothing on the screen do you mean it shows any sign of life? The most likely cause is a mis plugged lead. It’s quite easy to put an edge connector out by a column or a row so have a very good general sanity check. Disassemble and build again if necessary. I’ve not tried the wonderful new display board, so I’ve not subjected one to the exhausting test cycle and don’t know quite how many ways one can break one :smiley:

When you plug in the HDMI monitor you should be able to see an IP address for the beast as it tries to boot. that will allow you to find out the network location of the zynth. Do you have an Ethernet cable? If you can talk to the machine over any form of network then a little degree of control can be assumed on the box and the process gets a little less agricultural.

Pointing a browser at zynthian.local can be surprisingly illuminating.

The screen is illuminated but simply does not display any content. As I mentioned I was able to connect to the web UI and change the Kit setting to V3 and look at the debug logs. That did not bring me any closer to finding a solution though.