Vitalium - any usage recommendations?

Hi,
are there any advice for using Vitalium on zynthian? I just started learning about synths and my impression so far is, that it is a good idea to learn Vital(ium).

I’m running zynthian on a headless Raspi 4 (8GB). So I have VNC enabled to use zynthian. When I add a Vitalium layer, then almost half of the CPU is eaten up even without playing a single note. I guess zynthian is busy with rendering the Vitalium UI, right? Playing a chord immediately produces xruns.

What is the current state of Vitalium on zynthian? Should I consider it to be “experimental”, or did I just select very resource intense presets? Or is there a trick to decrease its hunger for CPU by disabling the UI or something like that?

The thread about Vitalium in this forum is really enthusiastic about having this synth. I also want to jump on that boat! :smiley:

Yes - we were very excited at Vitalium. It is a great synth and fits nicely with us old farts who can consolidate its modern synthesis techniques with old school subtractive synthesis. It is a resource hog and can be challenging to tame. The UI is very active so will use some resources so disabling UI during performance is always recommended but most of the resources will be used by the synthesis. You need to be prudent with the presets. Some processing (or combinations) will eat more resources than others. This is an issue with many of the modules in Zynthian. They can provide very useful features but can also drag the whole thing down. We have the dilemma of deciding whether to exclude everything that might cause an issue (and leave a rather sparse selection of modules) or accept that some configuration will break the device. Currently we err to the latter unless the module is plainly unusable. (Actually even beasts like Surge remain but maybe more through hope than judgement!)

Thank you for you quick reply - again! :slight_smile: