Web app to extend the Zynthian UI

Hi all. I’m interested in developing a web app for Zynthian which let a browser window act as a live, extended second screen. Initially, this would have an extended amount of dials and sliders for the current instruments, letting you map midi to different controls like on the zynth. It would also let you change and store presets.

I’m a web developer, with a lot of experience with UI, UX and web apps. I’m quite interested in trying to prototype a responsive PWA using my current favourite frameworks: Vue.js and Tailwind CSS

It could be built up as a library of reusable UI components (a dial, a slider, a select list etc) so that it could be extended to cover other functionality. This would of course require an API for it to actually work and I’m not really a Python dev :grinning:

Are there any threads I should read?
Anyone working already on something like this?
Anyone talked about decoupling the UI?

I have a laptop with a touch screen so this is maybe a bit more appealing to me than some of you :slight_smile:

3 Likes

We lack a complete and well structured API for that, but you could use a combination of:

• MIDI CC (using the MIDI learning feature)

• CUIA (via MIDI note-on events or OSC).

Zynthian UI Users Guide - V1/V4 - ZynthianWiki

Regards,

Thanks, I’ll look into this.

We were discussing about this in the past in this forum.
I planned to use the existing websocket connection of the webconf for this.
I would have started if we had a better osc API

2 Likes

Thanks for the extra info. I’ll investigate and see if I can create a primitive REST API, so that I can start messing around with my idea of a JS web app controller.

If you don’t hear anything from me again it’s either taking me too long or I’ve given up :wink:

I think, that it doesn’t need an extra REST API.
For the typical REST communication we should use OSC calls (which might be REST).