ZynPad only seems to allow up to 8 tracks - am I misunderstanding how it works?

Howdy!

I’m new to Zynthian, having just assembled my v5 kit a couple days ago. I promise I did read the manual, but please forgive me if this is in there and I’ve just missed it.

So I am looking at building up songs on the Zynthian, and am using ZynPad/ZynSeq for it. From what I can tell though, it seems like you can have a maximum of 8 sequences going at one time. Given it seems 1 instrument (synth, drum kit, etc) is assigned to each column of sequences, that suggests you can only have 8 instruments in ZynPad.

This seems strange to me and makes me feel I must be missing something, as I know in general you can have up to 16 instruments per snapshot assuming I’m following everything correctly.

Am I understanding this right? Granted, 8 tracks should really be plenty for my purposes, but I just want to make sure I’m following everything okay. I did see there is some stuff you can do in arranger that seems to work around this, but admittedly I’m not quite following it.

1 Like

Hi @ndguardian! A warm welcome to the land of Zynthian. I hope you enjoy your travels here.

Did you see the dedicated sequencer documentation on the wiki? It may be slightly out of date but it was updated recently by a community member using the current stable version.