A Pure Data patch to control SooperLooper with one pedal

My MIDI foot pedal only has four switches, so I made a patch in Pure Data to make one switch act like a typical single-pedal hardware looper. With this patch, a single press of the pedal starts the recording, then a second press triggers and sets overdub on, then successive presses toggle between overdub on and off. A double press pauses, then the next press triggers the loop to play again. A triple press erases the loop and resets so the next press records again.

This might also be a good template for using “dumb” controllers with limited programability to do more complex things. Here is a picture of the patch. I will also upload the zip file with the yml file so you can load it up and try it. It worked for me but I’m no expert in any of this so it might not be the best.

looppedal.zip (1.3 KB)

4 Likes

Kudos on the nice work and thank you for sharing the yml file. I think this is a great idea, and when combined with the new “Driver” support in Zynthian (assuming that is possible) it becomes even more powerful.

What are you using the other 3 switches for?

1 Like

If you had one coloured LED how would you present the status for your arrangement?

Thanks for the kind words! Right now I’m using the other switches to send Program Change messages to switch ZS3s. I am using a guitar with dual outputs and a synth pickup so the ZS3s let me easily switch to different sounds for layering and improvising on the loops. The biggest advantage, for me, is that when I’m standing at a microphone and playing (and maybe also singing), I can leave my foot in place and not have to dance around the pedals too much.