Avoiding Zynthian power down failure

Hello @ll,

yesterday I had a really stupid problem in the rehearsal room: shortly before the rehearsal I tested my Zynthian at home: everything was running. But apparently I disconnected the power supply too early and I had to notice that the SD card was no longer readable at rehearsal room.

This problem is not good for live performances. Unfortunately there is also an unpredictable power failure live…

My first idea was to design something with some goldcaps myself, but no: there is already such a solution. Admittedly: not cheap, but ready for it and well thought out: https://juice4halt.com/products

I’m thinking about buying something like this and hope it still fits into the Zynthian v2 case.

Does anyone have any other ideas?

Regards, Holger

2 Likes

Hey, I’m new to this world and I’ve been reading a lot these days. Somewhere I read you can have two sd cards, so you can have a backup sd card ready if it gets corrupted.

Hope it helps!

Hi @tocatdelala,

welcome to the wonderful and amazing world of Zynthian :slight_smile:

Yes, a second SD card may also solve this problem, but I won’t start searching and replacing a SD card on stage…

Also you have to keep in mind to copy the sd card regularly to have the same configuration on both cards…

Regards, Holger

hey! thank you

No, I mean an actual device that has two SD cards plugged and you can switch back and forth

Ai can’t see the price in the shopping cart on my android tablet. I wonder if it might help with loud xruns with hifi amp2?

Hm, I thinks that this will not work. The problem is, that buffers are not written to the filesystem when powering down hard. So, if they are not written to one sd card they won’t be written to the other, too (IMHO).

Hi Holger,

have a look at this:

Greetings
Roman

Probably something like this would be more use. https://learn.adafruit.com/read-only-raspberry-pi?view=all.