Clicking noise (screen issue ?) (partially solved)

Hi,

I experimented some issue with the zynthian, when i plug it to my mixer BOSS BX-8, i have some clicking noise. Even worst, when nothing is plug to my mixer, i heard the clicking noises, the zynthian is just plug to electricity (i have a official power supply, it’s not coming from that)

When I untie the screen ribbon bus cable or when i bold press the select knob, no more clicks.
My solution is to load all my synth, tweak with it, and when I want to record the audio from my mixer, I just bold press the select button (it’s working, but it’s not a very good solution :slight_smile:)

Do you think the screen has an electricity problem? (i’m a noob :slight_smile:)

I read a topic with very similar syndrom @sadkermit :

I try to change something via terminal webconf. I typed “alsamixer” and i try to deactivate Auto Mute, but i don’t know how i can change option. do you know how i can put it off ?

By the way, I hope I haven’t changed anything by accident !
by default, the option for the DSP program is this?
because I may have changed it by accident.

A video with the clicking noises, and my config :

Thanks a lot !

1 Like
  • Try opening your zynthian and moving the audio harnesses. Perhaps some of the wires is taking too much noise from some other wire or component. Try to “hide” the wires avoiding the CPU and display …

• Reduce the input gain level if it’s high.

• It could be a “grounding” problem … difficult to say. Noise is a slippery problem!

What about the cables you are using for connecting to the mixer?

Regards,

thanks for your quick answer !

• I will try that, thanks, but i think it comes from the screen.
  • it’s already at the minimum
  • yeah, maybe, it comes from my mixer (too old :slight_smile: )

it does not come my cables, the screen does something electric that makes noise, even when nothing is wired to the mixer

what about automute option in alsamixer ?