Hello from new user

Hi all,
My name ist Tom and i live in Bochum, Germany. As a retired analytical chemist, I just a few days ago stumbled over the Z<ynthian Project. “Chapeau” - I am quite excited about this great group and development, so I immediately orderd a kit, and I’m waiting for it to arrive …
Some info about my background:
… I’m not a professional musician nor programmer; only had to work with some (offline) signal processing like FFT and 2D chromatographic spectra.
… as an amateur musician I play piano and brass instruments (trombone, trumpet, cornet), for which i want to examine and create better sound files which sound more realistic than the ones i have found so far.
… I’m also also interested in early music scale temperaments (to find out how instruments and music would sound like in the old days")
… Add “simple” sensors/controllers to MIDI equipment like a breath controller for wind instruments
… and - don’t laugh too loud ;-)) - trying to develop something similar to the old Fairlight CMI for new sounds
like dynamic harmonics / overtones.

I do want to contribute and share experiences as much as I can and I will be delighted when you user group members will be shooting (meaningful) holes and criticisms into my proposals to

5 Likes

Hi Tom!

Nice to hear that there is a new Zynthian user in Germany :slight_smile: (I am from Berlin - or nearby Berlin). If you want to create sample files take a look a Polyphone. It is a great tool for creating SF2 soundfonts.

Yeah! Fairlights are very nice dinosaurs of sound :smile: A dedicated plugin would be a very nice tool.

Have fun with Zynthian!

Regards, Holger

1 Like

For some sample files of Fairlight CMI take a look to this post

2 Likes

Hello to Berlin!
Thanks you for your kind answer.

… I will try hard to see you at Berlin Maker Faire …
… Yes, i have already stumbled over “Polyphone”, for for some unknown reason i cannot get it running on my laptop.