Just built a Zynthian and can't get past an ERROR screen

Hi everyone, I’m new here.

I bought a pre-built kit recently, and it arrived today. I followed the instructions, but everytime I boot the device, it gives me the ERROR screen.

I’ve tried disconnecting an reconnecting everything, I’ve tried to reburn the SD, the web access works fine, but I can’t see to find out what’s wrong.

I’m not a programmer or a super advanced user, but I can follow instructions, can someone guide me on what can I do?

You are going to need to use a couple of tools to examine various characteristics of the machine and the most important is ssh
Specifically

Putty

As to the error screen ( Just a static splash screen).
There are several things that can produce this, mostly to do with configuration. Questions such as

1. have you got the right Audio card configured?
  2. have you got the right display configured?
  3. Have you got the right encoder configuration?

You say you have a pre-built so, hopefully, everything is plugged together in the right way and the splash screen does at least demonstrate that that is connected ok.

Now one of the things about zynthians is that they will fight tooth and claw to keep running, if you stop them running they will start up again and to stop them running you have to do something from outside and it has to be done in a specific way.

Also zynthian has several different software sections that all need to be running at the same time to make it all work.
So it’s possible to have one section running but others crashed.

So what we must do is examine the running machine and see which bits are running and which bits ain’t.

One piece of information that you need is what the zynthian has chosen/been given as it’s IP address and has it got a much more useful name.

You say web access works so presumably you are accessing this as zynthian.local?

Can you login into the webconf and send us a screenshot of the output when you press the zynthian logo?