Kit v4. No sound on headphones? [SOLVED!]

Hiya,

Got my Zynthian today! Yay!! Everything works apart from the headphone out. For one I don’t know which headphone socket to use so I have been trying both.

Help!!!

Andy

Aka newbie without a clue

Hi Andy

Wow, both headphone sockets!!! I didn’t think it had any.

newbie here too.
Same problem (on rc2), I’ve been trying both the headphone out of the hifiberry and the headphone out of the rpi itself, both are completely silent…

+1 same

Same for me T_T … (using buster rc2)
I tried both (Raspberry headphones AND hifiberry headphones)

@andycallaby Also strange behaviour of the 6.5mm jack Audio out. I plugged my headphones in there and, predictably, only one side was working, but both times (ie. whether I’m plugged in audio out L or audio out R) it was the left side! (I was running the Audio test from Admin menu)

Is it the same for you? It’s unlikely it’s a plugging issue, because both sides of audio out belong to the same connector on the hifiberry.

@YPares. Works fine on the audio outs hooked up to my speakers. Just the headphone out is not playing any sound.

That “Headphone Out” is the onboard audio output, I think you’d need to change the audio card in the web interface to use it?

The 6.5mm Jack outputs are both mono, so they would both only output on the left channel of a stereo pair of headphones. You would need a headphone amp to mix from both outputs for a proper stereo in headphones.

1 Like

Ok. So that’s normal. Yeah, I’m only gonna use the Zynthian with headphones or regular jack speakers for now, so I’d really like to be able to get them to work properly. Headphone outs aren’t activated by default?