Mapping Midi Control Korg Nanokontrol 2

I’m just getting started please excuse if this is a newbie question…
I have set up some layers I’m very happy with:
1>SalamanderGP + Clone midi to channels 2,3,4,5
2>FluidR3 / Rhodes
3>ZynAddSubFX / Synth Pad 1 + Midi Filter Lower 2/3rds of keys
4>ZynAddSubFX / Synth Pad 5 + Midi Filter Lower 2/3rds of keys
5>ZynAddSubFX / FM Bass 2 + Midi Filter Lower half of keyboard

This makes quiet a nice layered set of sounds.
Question 1)
I’ve mapped the Korg to control the volume of each synth by going into each and moving from left to right across the volume control, then assigning it to a fader. The problem I have is when I then select the first patch the faders for the others don’t work. They only seem to work as I select each one. Is there some way for the faders to control all the volumes all the time?

Question 2)
I’d like to map the knobs to dial in reverb for each, I would like to do this by routing the output of each to a single Audio FX layer. No problem that is easy. Is there some way to control independantly the volume which goes to that Audio FX layer?

Question 3)
Is it only one effect per Audio FX layer, or can I create a chain within one layer?

Help much appreciated! Thanks, John

1 Like

Hi

1. It may depend on the mode you are working in: single channel / multitimbral. I will let someone else tackle this one.
  2. You could add a “Gain 2x2” layer for each effects send you want, manually change input and output routing so that each synth feeds a Gain 2x2 plugin and all Gain 2x2 plugins feed the reverb then use the Gain 2x2 controls as effects sends. Use the mono Gain plugin for mono sources because there is a bug in Zynthian that causes some mono to stereo paths to get routed A-leg only. Remember to deroute the main audio input to each gain plugin and the reverb.
  3. You can create a chain of effects on each layer. Bold press on the layer and select “Add Audio-FX” from the context menu.