New build black screen

Hi,

I’m new to Zynthian, apologies if I’m missing anything obvious.

My new installation shows the logo and then UI on boot, then the screen goes black with a small white underscore in the left corner, the web interface remains available throughout.

I used the my recent image from the Wiki.

I then installed the LCD drivers as recommended by LCD vendor, hardware details below. Any help would be appreciated.

Screen:

Raspberry Pi 4B (Model B) Rev 1.2

Driver install:
http://www.lcdwiki.com/3.5inch_RPi_Display

Thanks.

Don’t do this. Installing the drivers will break zynthian config. You have to use one of the listed displays or create your custom config for zynthian.

Touch controller: XPT2046 (ADS7846)
Display controller: ILI 9486

It should be “more or less” compatible with the official Zynscreen.
If not, try some waveshare 3.5 display from the list. They use the same chips (more or less) and have the same resolution.

This options should work “more or less”, but probably, there will be some problem like rotated display, not working or rotated touch, backlight problems, etc.

The best you can do is create a custom config display using the manufacturer scripts & repo as source. From the install script, i see they are using this overlay:

dtoverlay=tft35a:rotate=90

(LCD-show/LCD35-show at master · goodtft/LCD-show · GitHub)

The overlay is available on the same repo, inside the “usr” folder. You should copy it to “/boot/overlays” and rename it to “tft35a-overlay.dtbo”. I just downloaded and renamed it for you:

tft35a-overlay.dtbo (2.6 KB)

Anyway, i would recommend to start with a fresh-burned SD and don’t install anything from the manufacturer, except the overlay.

When you have a fully working config, you can send a PR to the zynthian-sys repo, or simply report here and i would do, so your display get listed on the webconf.

Regards,