Portamento and Legato in Zynaddsubfx

Hi folks.
I’m triyng to make a cover of Premiata Forneria Marconi’s Impresioni di Settembre (Link)

I’m not very good at sound design or keyboard playing, but I think that I get a decent result on the solo using zynaddsubfx on Ubuntu:

To make this I used the following setings:
mode: legato
portamento: on
portamento threshold: 5

But I can’t get the same result on zynthian. I try to set legato on, poly off and portamento on, but it doesn’t work. The sound is polyphonic (i can make chords), is not legato (it retriggers the modulations) and portamento hapens even if I cut the phrase.

I left my xiz files of the pad and lead that I’m using, in case that someone likes the sound:
0030-PFMIDS-PAD.xiz (1.8 KB)
0031-PFMIDS-LEAD.xiz (3.8 KB)

I will appreciate any help.

2 Likes

It’s been a while but I’m new to the table - did you get this to work @Andres ?

One thing that may be an issue is that ZynAddSubFX now has a single parameter for Poly / Mono / Legato (called polyType in OSC), instead of the separate poly and legato boolean parameters, and it would at least be more familiar to Zyn users if Zynthian had used this parameter instead. The old boolean parameters still exist, so they should work however.

Sorry, I’m a little bit disconnected, my speakers exploded so I haven’t used my zynthian for a while.

I tested last week end and the problem still there. I can set monophonic or legato via VNC, but not with the zynthian controls. I don’t know if there is something that I’m doing wrong.

So if I understand correctly, the value changes in the Zynthian display when you turn the knob, but there is no apparent change to the behavior of zynaddsubfx?

That’s right.

The value changes in the display when I turn the knob, I turn on mono and legato, but the sound is still polifonic without legato (it retrigger the envelope and LFO).

I’m using Raffo Synth as lead synth. But I want to use my old patches in Zynaddsubfx.