Sending USB-Midi data to Zynthian, from an external DAW/Computer

Hi everybody,

I am new to the Zynthian community, having recently received and built (with lots of fun!) an official kit v4.

So far so good, with the small ingenious machine: slowly wrapping my head around the slighlty different engineering concept and workflow of the Zynth, as compared with the other hw and sw synthesiser systems that I own.

Sorry if I am possibly arising a subject which might seem obvious, especially to the more seasoned practitioners of the platform, but I seem not to be able to address Midi tracks via USB to the Zynthian, from my DAW (Cubase 10.5 Pro) both on Win 10 and OS Catalina.

Midi through DIN connectors works perfectly from my computer, as well as playing Zynth via USB with a keyboard controller. Nevertheless, I cannot manage to send Midi-USB tracks from Cubase to the unit, because Zynthian does not show as a selectable output destination within the app, nor it appears to be connected to the computer as a recognised USB peripheral.

I have linked Zynth and my iMac with an A-A male-to-male USB 3.0 cable.
I guess that in this fashion an external computer like Zynth-RBPi4 (sort-of-slave), hooked to the main workstation’s (sort-of-master) USB board, may not show up as an available plugged-in device (since it is in fact a second PC inside a dedicated musical enclosure, rather than a secondary appliance), unless:

• 1] There exist already Zynthian USB-MIDI drivers for Win and Mac, somewhere I have not been clever enough to spot them (quite possible!);

or

• 2] Some sort of local Midi-over-USB network must be implemented manually, between the computer with the DAW and the Zynthian (equally possible, but how?..).

Many thanks in advance for any kind of advice/help/troubleshooting in this matter.

Nice to be on-board, and greetings from Tuscany!

2 Likes